The Fires of Lilliput Newsletter

The Fires of Lilliput Newsletter


Hello and Happy Holidays from Heart Beat Publications!‍

Welcome to our newsletter for readers of The Fires of Lilliput, Shosha Mordechai's epic story of courage, suffering, and love during the Nazi siege of Poland and the Soviet invasion that followed.

We're pleased to announce our Kindle debut on Amazon
The paperback is available at Heart Beat Books here. Audio version coming soon! 

Congrats to the first two winners of our Facebook paperback book raffle. Please watch your email for confirmation and physical address (we will mail the book postage free in the US only).

From our Facebook page of nearly 7,000 fans, we also have excerpts from the book, recent news about Holocaust survivors and issues, and fan comments we want to share (first names only).

The Fires of Lilliput on Amazon

The Fires of Lilliput on Kobo

The Fires of Lilliput at Heart Beat Books

 


 
THEY LAY IN ONE bed together, six of them, including two boarders and the rabbi. The coal fire warmed the room into the dark, but the warmth faded.

The awful cold from the river winds dropped the temperature to twenty-four below zero centigrade, enough to freeze a fully-clothed man wrapped in underwear and a coat and heavy socks and boots.

The rabbi and the others burrowed under four layers of blankets and long woolen underwear, and two of them wore coats, and still they felt ripples of cold with every flick of an eyelid or turn of a cheek.

“I’m worried for her.” Rebekah spoke softly to the rabbi. Next to him on the other side, Leiozia slept. “How can a young person not emerge from something like this warped, if they live?”

“Shosha’s too straight and strong to be bent by the likes of this,” the rabbi said.

“And Lev?” Rebekah asked.

The rabbi turned and faced her.

“He’s coming back,” the rabbi said.

“When?”

The rabbi lifted his hand from beneath the blankets and cupped Rebekah’s cheek in his palm, warm from the heat they shared.

She circled his wrist in her fingers and brought his palm to her lips and kissed it after a hesitation. She kissed it again and pressed it harder to her lips and her nose.

The rabbi didn’t draw away, but let his hand stay with her, pliable until she choked on tears.

He pulled her close to him, her hair under his chin and her lips on his neck where her fractured sobs settled into a low weeping, muffled in this tumble-down arrangement of the living, a muted bereavement.

-- The Fires of Lilliput, Chapter 4
Warsaw Jewish Ghetto, Poland
November-December 1940

Photo: Destroyed synagogue, Poland, Henryk Ross, Winter 1940


Lyudmila Pavlichenko (photo) was one of the five deadliest snipers of all time, and a major thorn in Adolf Hitler’s side.

Lyudmila grew up in Kiev. She was athletic and very competitive. After hearing a boy boast of his prowess at a local shooting range, Lyudmila was determined to show that a girl could do just as well.

For more on her epic courage in fighting Nazis on the battlefield, as well as her advocacy for women’s rights, read the story here.


Click here for the story of how Jozef Walaszczyk (pictured) rescued his Jewish girlfriend and 50 others during the Holocaust. He also fought the Germans as part of the Underground, smuggling allied troops across borders.

Dozens of people from 49 countries delivered filmed greetings to Walaszczyk on his 101st birthday last month.